Friday, April 6, 2012

Good Friday

Good Friday marks the crucifixion of Christ on the Cross. It is a day of reflection and mourning, but the graciousness of God’s sacrifice makes it ‘good’.

Good Friday is observed to commemorate the crucifixion of Christ on the Cross at Calvary and is considered to be the most important day on the Christian calendar after Easter. It is the death of Jesus Christ on the Cross and his subsequent resurrection on Easter Sunday that form the cornerstone of the Christian Faith. Good Friday will be observed by Christians all over the world on April 22nd this year.

It is also known as Black Friday, Holy Friday, Great Friday, or Easter Friday, though the latter normally refers to the Friday in Easter week.

The Seven Last Words of Christ Reflecting on the Seven Utterances of Christ forms the foundation for most Good Friday church services across most Christian denominations.

The Seven Sayings reveal the purpose of God’s plan, his forgiving character and magnify the painful sacrifice He made in the flesh while enduring terrible physical torture.

1. “Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do” (Luke 23:34).

2. “Verily I say unto thee, Today shalt thou be with me in paradise” (Luke 23:43).

3. “Woman, behold thy son! … Behold thy mother!” (John 19:26).

4. “My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?” (Mark 15:34).

5. “I thirst” (John 19:28).

6. “It is finished” (John 19:30).

7. “Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit” (see on Luke 23:46).

Christians are reminded of the immense sacrifice made by their Lord and thank him for his graciousness in ridding the world of sin and giving corrupt mankind a stairway to heaven.

No comments: